Board members

Chairman of the board

John Barton  N,R
Aged 69

Became a member of the Board in 2002 and was appointed Deputy Chairman in 2004 and Chairman in 2006. He is also Chairman of Catlin Group Limited and easyJet plc and a non-executive director of SSP. John previously served as Chief Executive of JIB Group plc, Chairman of Cable and Wireless Worldwide plc, Jardine Lloyd Thompson Group Plc, Wellington Underwriting plc and Brit Insurance Holdings plc and as a non-executive director of WH Smith plc and Hammerson Plc.

Executive directors

Lord Wolfson of Aspley Guise Chief Executive 
Aged 46

Joined the Group in 1991. Appointed Retail Sales Director in 1993, became responsible for NEXT Directory in 1995 and was appointed to the Board in 1997 with additional responsibilities for systems. Appointed Managing Director of the NEXT Brand in 1999 and Chief Executive in 2001.

David Keens  Group Finance Director 
Aged 60

Joined NEXT in 1986 as Group Treasurer and was appointed to the Board in 1991. Previous experience includes seven years in the accountancy profession and nine years in the UK and overseas operations of multinational manufacturers of consumer goods, with roles including Group Treasurer and Finance Director. Professional qualifications include the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants and the Association of Corporate Treasurers.

Michael Law Group Operations Director 
Aged 52

Joined the Group in 1995 as Call Centre Manager for the NEXT Directory. Michael was appointed Call Centre Director in 2003 and in 2006 took responsibility for Group IT. In 2010 he was appointed Group Operations Director, adding Warehousing and Logistics to his portfolio. Michael is now responsible for all Systems, Warehousing, Logistics and Call Centres within the Group and was appointed to the Board in 2013.

Jane Shields Group Sales and Marketing Director 
Aged 50

Joined NEXT Retail in 1985 as a Sales Assistant in one of our London stores. Jane worked her way through Store Management to be appointed Sales Director in 2000, responsible for all store operations and training. In 2006 Jane took additional responsibility for Retail Marketing and in 2010 was appointed Group Sales and Marketing Director, adding Directory and online Marketing to her portfolio. She was appointed to the Board in 2013.

Independent non-executive directors

Jonathan Dawson Senior Independent Non-executive A,N and R
Aged 62

Became a member of the Board in 2004. He is also a non-executive director of Jardine Lloyd Thompson Group plc and National Grid plc and a partner in Penfida Partners LLP. Previous experience includes non-executive directorships of National Australia Group Europe Ltd, Standard Life Investments (Holdings) Limited and Galliford Try plc, eight years in the Ministry of Defence and over twenty years in investment banking with Lazard.

Steve Barber A,N and R
Aged 62

Became a member of the Board in 2007. Previous experience includes almost thirty years in the accountancy profession, principally with Price Waterhouse where he was a senior partner. Formerly Finance Director of Mirror Group and Chief Operating Officer of Whitehead Mann. Founder of The Objectivity Partnership and a member of the Audit Quality Forum and Chairman of Design Objectives.

Francis Salway A,N and R
Aged 56

Joined the Board in June 2010. He is also Chairman of Town & Country Housing Group and a non-executive director of Cadogan Group Limited. Formerly Chief Executive of Land Securities Group plc and past president of the British Property Federation.

Caroline Goodall A,N and R
Aged 58

Became a member of the Board in January 2013. Caroline has thirty years' experience in the legal profession, with twenty years as a corporate finance partner at Herbert Smith, including five years as head of the Global Corporate Division. She is currently a non-executive director of SVG Capital plc and a non-executive on the Partnership Board of Grant Thornton UK LLP, as well as a trustee and member of the Council of the National Trust.

Dame Dianne Thompson A,N and R
Aged 64

Became a member of the Board in January 2015. Dianne has extensive senior management experience including fourteen years as Chief Executive Officer of Camelot Group, five years as Chairman of RadioCentre and three years as a non-executive Director of the Home Office.

A =

 Member of the Audit Committee

R =

 Member of the Remuneration Committee

N =

 Member of the Nomination Committee



Print page Email page